The German Half-Timbered House Road runs through the district, connecting half-timbered towns with medieval flair and a romantic aura. In Ludwigsburg County, the tourist road makes a stop in ...
Besigheim was first mentioned in a document in 1153. Even today, numerous historic buildings bear witness to Besigheim's multi-layered past.
Exemplary of this is the present-day Town Hall, built in 1450 as a department store. From the outside, it exudes incomparable half-timbered charm and towers above all buildings. Inside, restoration work has uncovered and restored painted stone and wooden walls and even stucco ceilings dating back to the Baroque period.
Other landmarks in the town include the town church, which has been rebuilt several times, as well as the Waldhorn Tower and the Schochenturm, which date back to the Hohenstaufen period and served as defensive towers.
According to research, an ancestor of Barack Obama is believed to have come from Besigheim. The ancestor is believed to have been recovered in his godfather's half-timbered house at Türkengasse 6.
The old town of the large district town of Bietigheim-Bissingen, with its numerous historic half-timbered buildings, offers the opportunity to look back to a time long past.
The Hornmoldhaus, the Latin school as well as the towers Unteres Tor, Pulverturm and the tower of the town church are particularly worth mentioning. Very well preserved ceiling and wall paintings from the Renaissance period can be admired in the Hornmoldhaus. It has also housed the town museum since 1989.
Another highlight is the Bietigheim Castle, dating from 1546, which blends with modern elements after renovation and refurbishment work in 2000 - 2002. Through the use of plain window fronts, the historic building is particularly well accentuated and supported in its effect. In the past it served as an official residence, today it finds a worthy use as a house of culture.
From afar, one can see the Köllesturm of Bönnigheim. Not only does its size inevitably draw the eye to it, but the charming combination of half-timbering and stone construction also makes the gate tower of the former town wall an eye-catcher.
Today's Swabian Schnapps Museum is housed in the oldest building in the town. The stone house dates back to 1295 and was originally the residential building of an underdeveloped castle. Gothic and Romantic influences have survived the test of time and still adorn the building today..
The medieval Cyriakuskirche, one of the most prominent buildings in the historic old town, also shines with its late Gothic inventory in old splendor. In contrast, time has not left the Ganerbenburg untouched. It had to be rebuilt after a civil war and was also structurally adapted to the respective needs over the centuries.
Marbach a. N.
The Schiller town of Marbach am Neckar is one of the oldest country towns in Württemberg, which has both a town wall and a medieval fortification.Holdergasse, with its small half-timbered houses and vines right by the house, is a very special quarter of the listed old town.
The only surviving Torturm in the historic old town now houses a museum. At today's Citizen's Tower, curiosity and a picturesque setting collide. Directly above ground level, the former fortified tower has loopholes. The reason for this is that the moat in which the fortified tower once stood has been filled in.
With the Alexander Church, Marbach is home to one of the most significant late Gothic hall churches in southern Germany. In honour of Schiller, the Schiller bell Concordia from 1859 rings twice a year in the church. Johann Christoph Friedrich Schiller was born in Marbach on 10 November 1759 in a modest-looking house in Niklastorstraße. Schiller spent the first 3 years of his life here, after which he moved several times to other towns.
The Town Hall dating from 1441 with its ornate half-timbering is just one of Markgröningen's many cultural monuments worth protecting.
The Wimpelinhof is a museum inside and out. The residential building is adorned by a magnificent Renaissance half-timbered façade. The museum inside picks up on the Renaissance theme and also provides information about Markgröningen town life in the early modern period and the traditional shepherd's race..
Also worth seeing is the Landesfruchtkasten. Originally, the crops were stored here. With the beginning of the 19th century, the building was used in many ways. First as a spinning mill, then as a dormitory for prisoners, later as a dormitory for the teachers' seminary, and today as living quarters.
The Finster Gasse is a little timber-framed gem. In it, several registered monuments stand close together, allowing very little sunlight into the alley.
Vaihingen an der Enz
Vaihingen's old town is a sight to behold with its winding alleys, magnificent half-timbered facades and historic buildings.
Here you can also find the Powder Tower and the Haspel Tower. Originally intended as the corner tower of the city's fortifications, the Powder Tower served over the centuries as an asylum for the homeless, a washhouse, a prison and a slaughterhouse..
The Haspel Tower, also known as the Thieves' Tower, on the other hand, remained true to its purpose. From the upper floor, prisoners were lowered 8 m down into the dungeon.
The historic city wall of the old town is still preserved in parts and can be walked on in some places.
Tours invite you to explore Vaihingen and its districts.
The town's landmark is Kaltenstein Castle, which towers high above the town, surrounded by vines.