History of the...

County of Ludwigsburg

The oldest evidence of human existence in the county is the 250,000 year old skull of Homo steinheimensis, which was found in 1933 near Steinheim an der Murr.

Archaeologists have excavated numerous finds of Celtic culture. The grave of the Celtic prince in Hochdorf was the most spectacular of these.

The Romans also left unmistakable traces behind. These include 120 manor houses, two forts (Benningen am Neckar and Walheim) and the unique Mithras sanctuary near Mundelsheim. And last but not least, the viticulture, which is so important for the county.

Finds from Alemannic and Franconian cemeteries tell of the early medieval beginnings of the old villages and towns. Christianity also came with the Franks and gave rise to cultural-historical gems, such as two Romanesque churches in Oberstenfeld or the Alexanderkirche in the Schiller town of Marbach am Neckar, one of the most beautiful late Gothic buildings in Württemberg.

The imposing residential palace in Ludwigsburg is a must for tourists. It is almost unique in still being able to give an impression of the magnificence of life at a baroque princely court.

Further links:

Every year, in the official old 'Oberamt' descriptions of the Kingdom of Württemberg, a different Oberamt (forerunner of a rural county) would be described, along with its municipalities and their history. Travel back in time to the middle of the 19th century.

Ludwigsburg (1859)

Besigheim (1853)

Marbach am Neckar (1866)

Vaihingen an der Enz (1856)

Leonberg (1852)

Contact us

Landratsamt Ludwigsburg

Hindenburgstraße 40
71638 Ludwigsburg

Tel. 07141 144 - 0
Fax. 07141 144 - 396